Where Addiction Happens.

ART: Celebrity Illustrations x Jovan Rosario

The sheer admiration I have for someone that’s artistically inclined is definitely an 11 on a 1-10 scale. Whether it’s with a pencil, paintbrush, spoken word or a camera, I’m usually drawn to their raw talent, especially the ones who are self-taught. To be able to find your passion and just go for broke is beautifully amazing to me. Here is one example: illustrator JOVAN ROSARIO.

IG_ponyy_boyy15

THE JUNQUI: How did you get into illustrating?

JOVAN ROSARIO:  Well drawing was always & still is my passion. My imagination was somewhat different from others in elementary school; I was a bad ass, I would always find myself sketching during class. I really started fashion illustrations 2-3 years ago & have been practicing ever since. With portraits, I’ve only been sketching for about a year. I had no idea what I was capable of until I tried it.

IG_ponyy_boyy13 IG_ponyy_boyy6

IG_ponyy_boyy16

THE JUNQUI: What are your influences?

JOVAN ROSARIO: Music, Fashion designers & my mood influences a lot of my work. A few people that have influenced my work are Alexander Wang, Marc Jacobs, Olivier Rousteing, Rihanna, Kim Kardashian, The Olsen Twins & Beyonce.

IG_ponyy_boyy9 IG_ponyy_boyy11

TJ:  Where would you like to travel to draw inspiration?

JR: One of my dreams is to travel to two of the biggest fashion capitals, Paris & Milan.

TJ: How would you describe your work?

JR:  To be honest my work represents me; fashion forward, minimal yet bold & detailed.

IG_ponyy_boyy10 IG_ponyy_boyy2 IG_ponyy_boyy

TJ: What do you want people who view your work to take away from it?

JR:  I want people to be inspired to do whatever it is they want to pursue in life. If I can inspire someone everyday, that would be an amazing accomplishment.

IG_ponyy_boyy4 IG_ponyy_boyy7 IG_ponyy_boyy14

TJ:  I see you illustrate celebs with great accuracy. Have you received feedback from any one of them?

JR:  I have been fortunate enough to have my work seen & acknowledged by Rihanna, Cara Delevingne (model), Rosie Huntington (model), Willy Cartier (male model), Kim Kardashian & Beyonce. Rihanna & Kim Kardashian also follow me because of my artwork. To this day, I still have that feeling of shock; it feels so surreal. I’m just so grateful for all the love and recognition.

IG_ponyy_boyy12 IG_ponyy_boyy5 IG_ponyy_boyy3

Check out more from Jovan Rosario:

INSTAGRAM // TUMBLR

One response

  1. allison

    hi my friend, I am your friend from the bus stop. the short lady with the glasses, who lives opposite the bus stop. I was screaming when I saw your piece on chanel 7. so darn proud of u son. so proud . keep up the good work.

    April 7, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

